Skip to content

The Promise

April 15, 2015

I was always your obedient child,

So in my childish way,

I believed your promise to keep me safe,

And never be far away.

So what happened dad, that sad morn,

Six months ago today?

Why did you break that solemn vow?

Are you sure you couldn’t stay?

Did you think you were protecting me?

Did you think our tears you’d spare?

If I’d known d’you think I’d have left you alone?

Of course I would have been there.

You see, I keep my promises,

And yes, it would have hurt so,

But I’d have held your hand to comfort you,

As you faced that final fo.

Instead my farewell was too late,

It fell on unhearing ears,

I stroked your hair and kissed your cheek.

As I choked back bitter tears.

Those tears have not stopped flowing,

Tinged with anger and sorrow,

That you didn’t keep your promise,

And we have no more tomorrows.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment